Gameday Final: UND 4, Michigan Tech 1

PREGAME VIDEO BLOG: Watch it here.

TONIGHT’S VIEWING: The game is NOT on television. There’s a webcast for $12 at GAME INFO: Major lineup shakeup for Tech, scratching veterans Milos Gordic, Jacob Johnstone and Bradley Stebner. Jamie Phillips is starting in goal. Nick Mattson back in for UND for Andrew Panzarella and Clarke Saunders is in net again. Full lines and live chat are below.

First period

UND 1, Michigan Tech 0 — Colten St. Clair (Joe Gleason, Brendan O’Donnell) 1:30. Gleason makes a nice hold at the point and spots St. Clair cutting in the slot. The puck almost slides out of reach for St. Clair, but he takes a swing as he dives after it and it beats Genoe stick side.

UND 1, Michigan Tech 1 — David Johnstone (Jujhar Khaira, Ryan Furne) 1:58 (pp). Gaarder takes a bad penalty after the St. Clair goal and Tech makes UND pay. Saunders stops a point shot but the rebound sits in the crease and Johnstone puts it away.

UND 2, Michigan Tech 1 — Danny Kristo (Nick Mattson, Corban Knight) 6:47. Mattson makes a nice play at the point to get the puck to Kristo in space in the right circle. Kristo launches a wrister high short side for the goal.

Second period

UND 3, Michigan Tech 1 — Corban Knight (Danny Kristo, Andrew MacWilliam) 6:20. Play goes four-on-four and UND dominates until Knight pots one. Kristo makes a nifty backhand pass to Knight int he left circle. Knight is covered by two guys but still manages to quickly snap a hard wrist shot past Genoe before the defenders could get a stick on him.

UND 4, Michigan Tech 1 — Mark MacMillan (Danny Kristo, Derek Forbort) 16:12. Kristo leads a 2-on-1 rush up the right wing. He keeps an eye on the defenseman, who makes a mistake by moving his stick out of the passing lane. Once he does so, Kristo uses the lane to feed MacMillan for the goal.

Third period


UND’s lines

16 Mark MacMillan–10 Corban Knight–7 Danny Kristo
9 Drake Caggiula–27 Carter Rowney–19 Rocco Grimaldi
21 Brendan O’Donnell–13 Connor Gaarder–17 Colten St. Clair
8 Dan Senkbeil–28 Stephane Pattyn–11 Derek Rodwell

2 Andrew MacWilliam–5 Nick Mattson
18 Dillon Simpson–20 Joe Gleason
4 Derek Forbort–24 Jordan Schmaltz

33 Clarke Saunders
31 Zane Gothberg

Michigan Tech’s lines

12 Ryan Furne–7 Jujhar Khaira–23 Alex Petan
19 Blake Pietila–20 Blake Hietala–15 David Johnstone
18 C.J. Eick–9 Dennis Rix–14 Chad Pietila
13 Aaron Pietila–11 Daniel Holmberg–22 Malcolm Gould

16 Steve Seigo–34 Riley Sweeney
21 Tommy Brown–25 Carl Nielsen
29 Walker Hyland–26 Jimmy Davis

35 Kevin Genoe
30 Jamie Phillips
31 Pheonix Copley

6 Responses

  1. JB

    For those who did purchase the webcast from MTU just an FYI but a few years ago I purchased it and continued to get get charged monthly so keep an eye on that. It maybe completely different now but I would watch that. That was the main reason I don’t purchase them from MTU anymore. $12 is a little steep too.

  2. dcSIOUXfan

    I saw in the chat that UND will be in HD next year. When was this announced? Did you write a story or blog post on this and I missed it?

Comments are closed.