Gameday Final: UND 5, Omaha 2

TONIGHT’S VIEWING: The game is on Midco Sports Network for Midco subscribers only. If the women’s hoops game is still going on at 4 p.m., the hockey game will start on Channel 323. The webcast is at Lineup note: UND going with the same lineup. Omaha moves Turgeon to forward, Seeler to defense and Faulkner starts in net.

First period

UND 1, Omaha 0 — Jordan Schmaltz (Nick Mattson, Carter Rowney) 6:51 (pp). Mattson sets up Schmaltz for a one-timer from the point. Schmaltz’s blast goes past Faulkner for the first goal of the game. It’s Schmaltz’s first goal since the season opener.

UND 2, Omaha 0 — Nick Mattson (Rocco Grimaldi) 9:19. Grimaldi gets on a breakaway up the right wing and tries a backhand move that’s stuffed by Faulkner, but Mattson follows it up and puts the rebound in.

UND 3, Omaha 0 — Mitch MacMillan (Dillon Simpson, Andrew MacWilliam) 10:32. MacMillan gets the puck behind the net, tries a wraparound and puts it off the far post and in. This goal chases Faulkner. Belfour comes in.

Second period

UND 4, Omaha 0 — Corban Knight (Andrew MacWilliam, Danny Kristo) 19:15. MacWilliam makes a nice hold at the blue line, fakes a shot to get the Omaha player out of the way and blasts a point shot that Knight tips out of the air for a goal on the short side.

Third period

UND 4, Omaha 1 — Josh Archibald (Michael Young, Bryce Aneloski) 7:39 (pp) (ex). Blais pulls the goalie for an extra attacker while on the power play and Archibald tips a Young point shot to get the Mavs on the board.

UND 4, Omaha 2 — Dominic Zombo  (Bryce Aneloski, Ryan Walters) 10:01. Omaha comes with a strong push, gets the puck to the crease area and Zombo gets two swats at it. He scores on the second.

UND 5, Omaha 2 — Danny Kristo (Corban Knight) 18:42. Knight makes a great pass in the neutral zone to spring Kristo on a breakaway. Kristo shoots five-hole to finish it.

UND’s lines

19 Rocco Grimaldi–10 Corban Knight–7 Danny Kristo
9 Drake Caggiula–27 Carter Rowney–15 Michael Parks
25 Mitch MacMillan–16 Mark MacMillan–17 Colten St. Clair
8 Dan Senkbeil–28 Stephane Pattyn–11 Derek Rodwell

2 Andrew MacWilliam–18 Dillon Simpson
4 Derek Forbort–24 Jordan Schmaltz
5 Nick Mattson–20 Joe Gleason

31 Zane Gothberg
33 Clarke Saunders

Nebraska Omaha’s lines

23 Johnnie Searfoss–21 Matt White–13 Zahn Raubenheimer
17 Ryan Walters–14 Dominic Zombo–15 Josh Archibald
9 James Polk–25 Brent Gwidt–28 Brian O’Rourke
4 Tony Turgeon–27 Aaron Pearce–19 Tanner Lane

8 Jaycob Megna–3 Andrej Sustr
2 Brian Cooper–24 Bryce Aneloski
11 Nick Seeler–7 Michael Young

30 John Faulkner
29 Dayn Belfour
31 Ryan Massa