Gameday Final: UND 4, MSU-Mankato 3

TONIGHT’S VIEWING OPTIONS: If you get Charter Cable, you can find it on that channel. Otherwise, there’s a webcast for purchase available here. There are no free webcasts. Lineup notes: Caggiula moved up to the top line with Knight and Kristo. Grimaldi is playing with Rowney and Parks on the second line. Gothberg starting.

First period

Mankato 1, UND 0 — Teddy Bluegar (Dylan Margonari, Eriah Hayes) 14:57. UND’s defenders get mixed up on assignments and Margonari is able to attempt a wraparound. Gothberg stops the initial shot, but Bluegar easily puts home the rebound.

Second period

Mankato 1, UND 1 — Carter Rowney (Dillon Simpson, Rocco Grimaldi) 10:04. Grimaldi hits Simpson at the point and the junior skates right to left, the sees Rowney backdoor. He fires a pass that Rowney redirects high into the net to tie the game.

UND 2, Mankato 1 — Mark MacMillan 17:10 (sh). Williams holds the puck behind the net while MSU is on the power play, but MacMillan steals it from him, brings it to the front and scores.

UND 2, Mankato 2 — Eriah Hayes (Matt Leitner, Zach Palmquist) 17:27 (pp). Hayes, standing on top of the crease, re-directs a Leitner shot to tie the game just 17 seconds after MacMillan’s goal.

Third period

UND 3, Mankato 2 — Stephane Pattyn 6:46. Pattyn strips Palmquist of the puck, walks in alone and scores to give UND the lead. It has Pattyn’s first goal since Nov. 3.

UND 4, Mankato 2 — Rocco Grimaldi (Carter Rowney) 19:24 (en). Rowney flips a pass out of the zone, Grimaldi chases it down, circles the net and scores into the empty net.

UND 4, Mankato 3 — Taylor Herndon (Evan Mosey) 19:39. Herndon finds a rebound of a Mosey shot for his first-career goal.

UND’s lines

9 Drake Caggiula–10 Corban Knight–7 Danny Kristo
19 Rocco Grimaldi–27 Carter Rowney–15 Michael Parks
25 Mitch MacMillan–16 Mark MacMillan–13 Connor Gaarder
11 Derek Rodwell–28 Stephane Pattyn–17 Colten St. Clair

2 Andrew MacWilliam–18 Dillon Simpson
4 Derek Forbort–24 Jordan Schmaltz
5 Nick Mattson–20 Joe Gleason

31 Zane Gothberg
33 Clarke Saunders

MSU-Mankato’s lines

21 Chase Grant–18 Matt Leitner–22 Johnny MacInnis
26 Dylan Margonari–23 Teddy Bluegar–25 Eriah Hayes
24 Brett Knowles–12 J.P. Lafontaine–8 Max Gaede
14 Taylor Herndon–19 Zach Lehrke–9 Bryce Gervais

16 Tyler Elbrecht–17 Evan Mosey
27 Brett Stern–7 Zach Palmquist
2 Josh Nelson–28 Jon Jutzi

35 Stephon Williams
30 Phil Cook
31 Evan Karambelas

3 Responses

  1. Property Brothers

    Caggulia has played well recently though. I really like watching O’Donnell though. Would love to see his energy on the top line just once. Great win though!

Comments are closed.