Toews Wins Selke Trophy

Former UND standout Jonathan Toews has won the Selke Trophy as the best defensive forward in the NHL.

Toews edged Boston Bruins forward Patrice Bergeron, the 2012 winner, to earn the honor.

Toews played a leading role in helping the Chicago Blackhawks to an NHL-best 2.02 goals against per game. He finished third in the NHL with a +28 rating, including a league-leading +21 away from home. He shared the overall lead in takeaways with Pavel Datsyuk (56) and was second in faceoff percentage (59.9 percent).

UND now has two winners of the Selke Trophy. Both wore No. 19 for the Blackhawks. The other — Troy Murray – won the award in 1986.

This is the second major award for Toews, who also won the Conn Smythe as the MVP of the playoffs in 2010. UND will create a plaque for Toews’ Selke Trophy that will go on the NHL wall just outside of the locker room in Ralph Engelstad Arena.

Toews currently is playing in the Stanley Cup Finals.

Selke Trophy voting

1. Toews, Chi, 1,260
2. Bergeron, Bos, 1,250
3. Datsyuk, Det, 737
4. Kopitar, LA, 266
5. Backes, StL, 240

College program’s major awards

12 – North Dakota
12 – Cornell
11 – Vermont
9 – Wisconsin
5 – Boston College

UND’s winners

Vezina Trophy – Belfour (1991, 1993)
Jennings Trophy – Belfour (1993, 1995, 1999)
Crozier Award  – Belfour (2000)
Calder Trophy – Belfour (1991)
Selke Trophy – Murray (1986), Toews (2013)
Masterton Trophy – Blake (2008)
Jack Adams Award – Tippett (2010)
Conn Smythe Trophy – Toews (2010)

4 Responses

  1. Sioux Fan 3.0

    Enough said on Toews huh luckystike;). Anybody know what the Crozier award Eddie the Eagle won is or what it was?

  2. Don

    Who was the vet in the Sioux jersey on the ice for the national anthem? Lots of green jerseys in the stands.

Comments are closed.