Gameday Final: UND 2, Vermont 2, Tie

Tonight’s viewing: Midco Sports Net. It is NOT on DirecTV. If you don’t get Midco, you can watch the HD Webcast on Lineup  note: Two changes on defense. Jordan Schmaltz and Keaton Thompson are in for Andrew Panzarella and Gage Ausmus. Zane Gothberg starts in net. Full lines and live chat are below.

First period

UND 1, Vermont 0 — Rocco Grimaldi (Jordan Schmaltz, Drake Caggiula) 10:58. Caggiula makes an outstanding play to hold the puck in the zone at the blue line and create space. He gives it to Schmaltz at the inside of the right circle and Schmaltz dishes a cross-crease pass to Grimaldi for a one-timer.

UND 2, Vermont 0 — Drake Caggiula (Adam Tambellini) 19:17. Caggiula rushes the puck up the right wing on his backhand with Tambellini cutting down the slot. Santaguida thinks Caggiula is going to center it but he goes top shelf on the short side with his backhand.

Second period

UND 2, Vermont 1 — Robert Polesello (Jonathan Turk) 3:34. Polesello tries to drag the puck between a couple of sticks. The puck eventually gets through and he wrists a shot from the left circle that goes off of Gothberg’s glove and trickles in. Gothberg’s shutout streak to start the season ends at 57:57.

UND 2, Vermont 2 — Chris McCarthy (Nick Bruneteau, Rob Hamilton) 17:14 (sh). McCarthy carries the puck on a two-on-one up the left wing. He fakes a shot, cuts to the middle and scores high glove to tie the game.

Third period

No scoring.


No scoring.

UND’s lines

21 Brendan O’Donnell–27 Luke Johnson–15 Michael Parks
10 Adam Tambellini–9 Drake Caggiula–19 Rocco Grimaldi
28 Stephane Pattyn–13 Connor Gaarder–17 Colten St. Clair
25 Mitch MacMillan–16 Mark MacMillan–7 Wade Murphy

18 Dillon Simpson–24 Jordan Schmaltz
5 Nick Mattson–6 Paul LaDue
4 Keaton Thompson–2 Troy Stecher

31 Zane Gothberg
33 Clarke Saunders

Scratches: Derek Rodwell, Gage Ausmus, Andrew Panzarella, Coltyn Sanderson, Bryn Chyzyk, Matt Hrynkiw.

Vermont’s lines

20 Brendan Bradley–17 Jake Fallon–3 Chris McCarthy
23 Connor Brickley–11 H.T. Lenz–6 Colin Markison
22 Brady Shaw–19 Matt White–7 Tom Forgione
8 Jonathan Turk–18 Robert Polesello–29 Malcolm McKinney

26 Caylen Walls–2 Michael Paliotta
5 Rob Hamilton–4 Nick Bruneteau
24 Chris Muscoby–15 Yvan Pattyn

1 Mike Santaguida
30 Pat Feeley

3 Responses

Comments are closed.