Gameday Final: UND 4, Duluth 2

Tonight’s viewing: Midco Sports Network, for webcast. Lineup notes: O’Donnell and St. Clair remain out. Panzarella in at D for Ausmus/Thompson. Saunders starts. Full lines and live chat below.

First period

UND 1, Duluth 0 — Rocco Grimaldi (Dillon Simpson, Jordan Schmaltz) 17:59 (pp). Simpson’s point shot hits a Duluth defenseman and sneaks under Crandall. The puck is sitting in the crease area and Crandall attempts to cover it with his back, but Grimaldi gets there in time to sweep it in.

Second period

No scoring.

Third period

UND 2, Duluth 0 — Michael Parks (Paul LaDue, Luke Johnson) :37. Corrin falls into his own net as the puck goes to the back wall. Parks collects it and wraps it for his third goal of the season.

UND 2, Duluth 1 — Alex Iafallo (Dominic Toninato) 6:37. With a power play coming up, the puck nears the crease area and Saunders vacates it to chip it to the corner, but he gets caught up with Schmaltz and the puck goes to Iafallo, who puts it in the empty net.

UND 2, Duluth 2 — Adam Krause (Alex Iafallo, Willie Raskob) 6:57 (pp). Raskob gets a point shot to the net. Iafallo takes a whack at the rebound before Krause finds it and flips it between Saunders and Simpson for Duluth’s second goal in 20 seconds.

UND 3, Duluth 2 — Jordan Schmaltz (Dillon Simpson, Drake Caggiula) 10:05 (pp). Schmaltz makes an unreal play picking the puck out of mid air and hold the zone. UND sustains possession for a lengthy period of time after that and eventually Schmaltz snaps a point shot through traffic for the goal.

UND 4, Duluth 2 — Stephane Pattyn (Nick Mattson) 19:56 (en). UND’s line of Pattyn, Gaarder and Rodwell get caught on the ice for a long time. Duluth pulls the goalie while putting on the pressure, but Mattson eventually chips it out and Pattyn puts it away with an empty-netter.

UND’s lines

29 Bryn Chyzyk–9 Drake Caggiula–19 Rocco Grimaldi
16 Mark MacMillan–27 Luke Johnson–15 Michael Parks
28 Stephane Pattyn–13 Connor Gaarder–11 Derek Rodwell
25 Mitch MacMillan–10 Adam Tambellini–7 Wade Murphy

18 Dillon Simpson–24 Jordan Schmaltz
5 Nick Mattson–6 Paul LaDue
2 Troy Stecher–22 Andrew Panzarella

33 Clarke Saunders
31 Zane Gothberg

Duluth’s lines

11 Austin Farley–13 Tony Cameranesi–26 Adam Krause
14 Alex Iafallo–17 Dominic Toninato–18 Joe Basaraba
8 Kyle Osterberg–21 Caleb Herbert–25 Justin Crandall
24 Charlie Sampair–27 Cal Decowski–19 Max Tardy

4 Carson Soucy–7 Andy Welinski
16 Tim Smith–15 Willie Raskob
5 Willie Corrin–6 Derik Johnson

1 Aaron Crandall
36 Matt McNeely