Gameday Final: UND 3, SLU 2

TONIGHT’S VIEWING: Midco Sports Network. Webcast available on Lineup notes: Gothberg in for Saunders in net. Mitch MacMillan and Rodwell are in for Mattson and Murphy. Full lines and live chat are below.

First period

UND 1, St. Lawrence 0 — Rocco Grimaldi 12:10 (sh). Grimaldi picks up a loose puck in the neutral zone and is off to the races. He outskates Sweetman and makes a great deke on Weninger and puts it home on the forehand.

Second period

UND 1, St. Lawrence 1 — Gunnar Hughes (Justin Baker, Sean McGovern) 10:07. The play starts with another lost faceoff as McGovern gets the puck to Baker at the blue line. Baker fakes a shot and makes an outstanding pass to Hughes on the backdoor for a tip-in goal.

UND 2, St. Lawrence 1 — Connor Gaarder (Troy Stecher, Paul LaDue) 18:55 (pp). After going 27 games without a goal, Gaarder scores the second night in a row. He gets the puck in the left circle and launches a wrister through a screen for a power-play goal.

UND 3, St. Lawrence 1 — Stephane Pattyn (Dillon Simpson, Connor Gaarder) 19:26. UND scores its second goal in 31 seconds. After putting on good pressure, Gaarder gets the puck back to Simpson at the blue line. Simpson finds Pattyn in the right circle and he rips a snap shot through a Rodwell screen.

Third period

UND 3, St. Lawrence 2 — Greg Carey (Chris Martin) 5:37. After a turnover in the neutral zone, the Saints transition the other way. Carey gets the puck in the left circle and snipes glove side to extend his point streak to 11 games.

UND’s lines

21 Brendan O’Donnell–9 Drake Caggiula–19 Rocco Grimaldi
25 Mitch MacMillan–27 Luke Johnson–15 Michael Parks
29 Bryn Chyzyk–10 Adam Tambellini–22 Andrew Panzarella
28 Stephane Pattyn–13 Connor Gaarder–11 Derek Rodwell

18 Dillon Simpson–6 Paul LaDue
20 Gage Ausmus–24 Jordan Schmaltz
4 Keaton Thompson–2 Troy Stecher

31 Zane Gothberg
33 Clarke Saunders
30 Matt Hrynkiw

St. Lawrence’s lines

10 Greg Carey–16 Matt Carey–25 Chris Martin
27 Gunnar Hughes–24 Brian Ward–18 Patrick Doherty
12 Sean McGovern–26 Kyle Essery–19 Justin Wick
28 Trevor Hills–14 Alexander Dahl–13 Woody Hudson

2 Eric Sweetman– 51 Justin Baker
23 Riley Austin–11 Ross McMullen
7 Gavin Bayreuther –3 Ben Masella

34 Matt Weninger
30 Tyler Parks
29 Kyle MacDonald

3 Responses

    1. Viking1

      Great video. A never-say-die Grafton kid playing for the best coach in college hockey = a recipe for success……. 🙂

Comments are closed.