Gameday Final: UND 3, NMU 1

TONIGHT’S VIEWING: Midco Sports Network. Webcast at Lineup notes: O’Donnell is in for St. Clair. Each banged up player gets one game this weekend. Ausmus is in for Thompson on D. Gothberg starts. Casey Purpur is back in for Northern Michigan.

First period

Northern Michigan 1, UND 0 — Shane Sooth (Ryan Daugherty, Mitch Jones) 15:20 (pp). Daugherty has the puck at the side of the goal and feeds it back to Sooth in the high slot. Pattyn was shadowing Sooth, but the Californian still got enough room to snap a shot past Gothberg’s left pad.

Second period

No scoring.

Third period

Northern Michigan 1, UND 1 — Gage Ausmus (Michael Parks, Paul LaDue) 10:35. LaDue pinches along the right wall and keeps the puck in the zone. Parks picks up the puck, carries it toward the net and spots Ausmus in the left circle. He sends a pass to him and Ausmus snipes the corner of the net.

UND 2, Northern Michigan 1 — Drake Caggiula (Rocco Grimaldi, Luke Johnson) 14:12. Grimaldi has the puck behind the net and spots Caggiula cutting down the slot. Grimaldi makes a perfect centering feed and Caggiula snaps it home stick side.

UND 3, Northern Michigan 1 — Derek Rodwell (Stephane Pattyn, Jordan Schmaltz) 19:25 (en). Pattyn skates the puck out of the zone, feeds it to Rodwell, who skates it in and scores into the empty net.

UND’s lines

9 Drake Caggiula–19 Rocco Grimaldi–27 Luke Johnson
28 Stephane Pattyn–13 Connor Gaarder–11 Derek Rodwell
21 Brendan O’Donnell–16 Mark MacMillan–15 Michael Parks
7 Wade Murphy–10 Adam Tambellini–22 Andrew Panzarella

18 Dillon Simpson–24 Jordan Schmaltz
5 Nick Mattson–2 Troy Stecher
20 Gage Ausmus–6 Paul LaDue

31 Zane Gothberg
33 Clarke Saunders
30 Matt Hrynkiw

Out of lineup: Keaton Thompson, Colten St. Clair, Mitch MacMillan, Coltyn Sanderson, Bryn Chyzyk

Northern Michigan lines

9 Reed Seckel–11 Shane Sooth–29 Ryan Daugherty
17 John Siemer–40 Stephan Vigier–20 Darren Nowick
7 Sami Salminen–14 Brock Maschmeyer–15 Dominik Shine
16 Jake Johnson–3 Ryan Kesti–2 Casey Purpur

27 Wade Epp–25 Austin Handley
4 Mitch Jones–18 Luke Eibler
23 Jake Baker–5 Ryan Trenz

30 Mathias Dahlstrom
34 Derek Dun

4 Responses

  1. Sioux4Ever

    Not a spectacular win, but a win is a win. Hoping this streak boosts confidence levels for an awesome second half of the season!

Comments are closed.