Gameday Final: UND 4, Denver 2

TONIGHT’S VIEWING: CBS Sports Network. No webcast. Lineup notes: UND goes with the regular Friday night lineup. Saunders starts. Hrynkiw backup. Panzarella and Ausmus in.

First period

UND 1, Denver 0 — Michael Parks (Nick Mattson, Brendan O’Donnell) 7:31. Mattson gets the puck to the net with a wrist shot. Parks is camped out on top of the crease and bangs home a rebound to set off the large contingent of UND fans in the building.

UND 2, Denver 0 — Drake Caggiula (Brendan O’Donnell, Michael Parks) 14:29 (pp). O’Donnell holds the puck in the left circle and appears like he’s getting ready to shoot, but spots Caggiula open and hits him with a cross-crease feed. Caggiula makes no mistake and one-times it home.

Second period

UND 2, Denver 1 — Ty Loney (Gave Levin, David Makowski) 9:29 (pp). Denver dumps the puck in the zone, but as the puck is going along the boards, it hits something on the end wall and bounces in front of the net. Saunders and the UND players are looking in the corner for it, unaware it is sitting right in front and Loney skates in and scores.

UND 3, Denver 1 — Dillon Simpson (Mark MacMillan, Jordan Schmaltz) 11:15 (pp). MacMillan rushes the puck up the left wing and Simpson decides to jump in the play behind him. MacMillan dishes it to Simpson, who snaps a shot past Brittain’s glove.

Third period

UND 4, Denver 1 — Rocco Grimaldi (Colten St. Clair) 6:52 (sh). St. Clair skates the puck out of UND’s end, through the neutral zone and into the DU zone on the left wing. He spots Grimaldi cutting down the middle and throws a perfect saucer pass that Grimaldi tips through Brittain.

UND 4, Denver 2 — Trevor Moore (Gabe Levin, Joey LaLeggia) 16:04 (pp). The Pioneers start throwing everything at the net during a power play. After a couple of close calls at the side of the net, Moore finds the puck and wraps it for DU’s second power-play goal of the night.

UND’s lines

9 Drake Caggiula–19 Rocco Grimaldi–27 Luke Johnson
28 Stephane Pattyn–13 Connor Gaarder–11 Derek Rodwell
21 Brendan O’Donnell–16 Mark MacMillan–15 Michael Parks
29 Bryn Chyzyk–17 Colten St. Clair–22 Andrew Panzarella

18 Dillon Simpson–24 Jordan Schmaltz
5 Nick Mattson–6 Paul LaDue
20 Gage Ausmus–2 Troy Stecher

33 Clarke Saunders
30 Matt Hrynkiw

Denver’s lines

8 Trevor Moore–19 Daniel Doremus–23 Matt Marcinew
12 Ty Loney–27 Quentin Shore–25 Matt Tabrum
16 Zac Larraza–9 Gabe Levin–18 Emil Romig
6 Matt VanVoohris–26 Evan Janssen–39 Grant Arnold

7 Will Butcher–10 David Makowski
21 Joey LaLeggia–4 Josiah Didier
11 Nolan Zajac–2 Nick Neville

1 Sam Brittain
30 Greg Ogard

6 Responses

Comments are closed.