Gameday Final: UND 5, WMU 0

TONIGHT’S VIEWING: No television. Free webcast available here. Lineup note: Mitch MacMillan is back in for Andrew Panzarella.

First period

UND 1, Western Michigan 0 — Connor Gaarder (Keaton Thompson, Brendan O’Donnell) 1:42. Thompson gets the puck at the point and launches a shot-pass to the slot, were Gaarder tips it past Slubowski.

UND 2, Western Michigan 0 — Connor Gaarder (Stephane Pattyn, Troy Stecher) 10:27. Thompson moves the puck to Stecher at the right point. Stecher’s shot is tipped by Pattyn and kicked to the slot, where Gaarder knocks it in for his second of the game.

Second period

No scoring.

Third period

UND 3, Western Michigan 0 — Jordan Schmaltz (Dillon Simpson, Luke Johnson) 11:00. The puck is wrapped to the point where Simpson sends it to Schmaltz at the other point. With lots of traffic in front, Schmaltz blasts one that hits the post, off the goalie and in.

UND 4, Western Michigan 0 — Rocco Grimaldi (Stephane Pattyn, Nick Mattson) 13:34. Just as a five-on-three power play ends, Pattyn finds the puck at the top of the crease and swings away. It eventually goes to the side, where Grimaldi slides it just across the line before Morrison is able to dig it out.

UND 5, Western Michigan 0 — Paul LaDue (Nick Mattson, Brendan O’Donnell) 14:53. UND goes on another five-on-three power play and Mattson moves it to LaDue, who one-times it past Slubowski.

UND’s lines

9 Drake Caggiula–16 Mark MacMillan–15 Michael Parks
28 Stephane Pattyn–19 Rocco Grimaldi–27 Luke Johnson
21 Brendan O’Donnell–13 Connor Gaarder–11 Derek Rodwell
25 Mitch MacMillan–29 Bryn Chyzyk–17 Colten St. Clair

18 Dillon Simpson–24 Jordan Schmaltz
5 Nick Mattson–6 Paul LaDue
4 Keaton Thompson–2 Troy Stecher

31 Zane Gothberg
33 Clarke Saunders

Western Michigan’s lines

8 Sheldon Dries–29 Will Kessel–28 Sam Mellor
14 Colton Hargrove–16 Nolan LaPorte–27 J.T. Osborn
2 Mike McKee–10 Josh Pitt–17 Justin Kovacs
24 Shane Berschbach–13 Chase Balisy–25 Mike Cichy

3 Thomas Nitsche–7 Kenney Morrison
9 Chris Dienes–20 Taylor Fleming
15 Jordan Oesterle–11 Dennis Brown

1 Frank Slubowski
35 Sam Bloomberg
55 Lukas Hafner

14 Responses

    1. erik

      Actually if you had been watching webcasts all year that converted hd to sd this picture was way better.

      1. JB

        Actually, the final scores will dictate whether UND moves on or is done for the year. Nothing will change in the PWR until each game is finished.

    1. Viking1

      Not over yet, but doesnt look as though Ohio State will be denied. That tender they picked up at Christmas has really turned them around…..

Comments are closed.